Skip to content

Confessions of a Shopaholic: Colour Addiction

March 9, 2009

Film Review by Jordana

I finally went to see Confessions of a Shopaholic. Normally it would have been my top priority but lately, my life has been hectic and going to the cinema has not reached the top of my to-do list. Last night though, my goal was to see this movie. Mission accomplished.

I have eagerly been waiting for Confessions of a Shopaholic to hit the cinemas. A few years back, I went to a book talk and book signing event with Madeleine Wickham (a.k.a. Sophie Kinsella) in Toronto and she admitted to her fans that the movie was in the works. That was already at least four years ago. She spilled the beans about the movie at that event and I’ve been waiting for the movie’s release ever since. I have been a fan of the Shopaholic books for a long, long while and I’ve read everything written by Sophie Kinsella and Madeleine Wickham (one author, two identities). She is one of the best chick lit writers out there and if you haven’t read anything written by her, then you are missing out on a very important part of being a fashionista.

Confessions of a Shopaholic novel, left, and author Sophie Kinsella at right

Confessions of a Shopaholic novel, left, and author Sophie Kinsella, right

But I digress. All this is to say that I was really really looking forward to the movie. Really. I generally believe the books are always better than the movie versions of them but that didn’t stop me from being excited about this movie. With all the hype about the NYC filming of the movie, the Patricia Field fashion styling, and Isla Fisher in the lead role as Rebecca Bloomwood, my enthusiasm for this film was high.

Although I preferred the story of Rebecca Bloomwood from the novel, I was so inspired by the fashion in this movie, that I felt a blog post was necessary. The clothes in this movie are absolutely incredible to say the least. Isla Fisher’s character wears fantastically playful, bright, and colourful clothes, mile high heels, and has an amazing collection of designer handbags. Her watch is Hermes I think, and she has gloves in every colour of the rainbow. In soft Italian leather – I could tell. She accessorizes beautifully – mainly with all sorts of belts to accentuate her tiny waist. And one very important silk green scarf. The colours of her outfits make her stand out in a crowd of business-suit-black at the financial magazine where she works. She radiates positivity and cheerfulness. Yes, through the movie screen. The power of clothes, I observed, is unbelievable.

Pretty in pink: all eyes on Rebecca

Pretty in pink: all eyes on Rebecca

Orange and fuschia perfection

Orange and fuschia perfection

"Purse: Gucci."

"Purse: Gucci."

Louboutins in her closet? Yes, many.

Louboutins in her closet? Yes, many.

Silk. Satin. Fur. And Rebecca Bloomwood.

Silk. Satin. Fur. And Rebecca Bloomwood.

Belted excellence

Belted excellence

I personally live in a world of black, white, red and brown (I explain this in more detail here.) Introducing a new colour into my wardrobe makes me nervous and takes effort. This winter, I was inspired to buy a tangerine coat (mainly because of the warmth factor) and to my surprise, it has worked with every piece of my wardrobe. Magic. But beyond that, I’m really a four-colour kind of girl. In my adulthood, I have not had the courage to put colourful outfits together like Rebecca Bloomwood but watching her on the big screen inspired me. Today I proudly wore my colourful Vera scarf (thanks to Diana for buying it for me for Christmas) and I felt a little like Rebecca Bloomwood.

Movies do offer an escape from reality, it’s true. But today, I discovered how my reality sometimes mimics the movies.

Isla Fisher wearing Vera Smoke Rings scarf in Confessions of a Shopaholic

Isla Fisher wears a Vera Smoke Rings scarf in Confessions of a Shopaholic

Color sings to me. Color is such a marvelous way of expressing emotion. We have so many problems in this world, color just brings a little bit of joy into our lives.” – Vera

This post is authored by Guest Contributor Jordana. To read more posts by Jordana, click on ‘Jordana’ in the Categories section below and view her previous posts.

The Confessions of a Shopaholic novel is published by Random House. Read more about author Sophie Kinsella here.

Images courtesy of Confessions of a Shopaholic Movie.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2009 9:24 am

    Uh.. I haven’t read any books by Kinsella nor have I seen the movie… I guess this pretend fashionista will be heading to the bookstore asap!

    Excellent review! Now I really need to see this movie and read the book!
    – Johanne

Trackbacks

  1. Tie One On- The Scarf Trend « Fashion in Motion

Leave a Reply

