Skip to content

Movember: The Moustache Month

November 16, 2009

Here at Fashion in Motion, we are always ready to support a good cause. This month, we are turning our attention to men’s health. Some of you may be aware that a moustache growing charity event is held during the month of November each year. If you refer to November as Movember, then you’re totally in the loop!

movemberfoundationDOTcom

movemberfoundation.com

During this event, men start clean shaven and commit to growing a moustache  in the hope of raising awareness and funds specifically for prostate and testicular cancer. Much to my sister’s chagrin, my brother-in-law started growing his moustache earlier this month and it has become a topic of much discussion. Most of us have told him the moustache isn’t quite the look he should be going for. But no matter, his new facial hair has got his friends and family donating as much as they can to support his efforts…and that’s the whole point, right? The Movember event got me thinking about the moustaches that have appeared on the faces of countless celebrities.

charliechaplin_IgossipDOTcom

Charlie Chaplin, igossip.com

brad pitt_splendidcityDOTcom

Brad Pitt, splendidcity.com

Burt Reynolds_PowderedWigDOTcom

Burt Reynolds, powderedwig.com

borat_moviepicturefilmDOTcom

Borat, moviepicturefilm.com

George CLooney_theinsiderDOTcom

George Clooney, theinsider.com

Tom-SelleckpoweredwigDOTcom

Tom Selleck, thepowderedwig.com

As I continued to research the moustache I learned about all these fun products. Some of the money raised from the sale of these products will go to the Movember Foundation, while others are just plain old entertaining.

Cooper-Hewitt

Formosa keyring, $20 USD, cooperhewittshop.org

moustache bandaids_urbanoutfittersDOTcommoustache bandaids2_$7_urbanoutfittersDOTcom

Moustache bandaids, $7, urbanoutfitters.com

moustache mugs_peterbrueggerDOTcom

Moustache mugs, peterbruegger.com

moustache pencils_moustachesallyDOTcom

Moustache pencils, moustachesally.com

moustache salt & pepper shaker_$28_etsyDOTcommoustache salt & pepper shaker2_$28_etsyDOTcom

Moustache salt & pepper shakers, $28, etsy.com

mustache on a stick2_etsyDOTcommustache on a stick3_etsyDOTcommustache on a stick_etsyDOTcom

Moustache on a stick, etsy.com

Unisex mustache mask_15GBP_americanapparelDOTcomUnisex mustache mask2_15GBP_americanapparelDOTcom

Moustache mask, americanapparel.com

mustache ornament_8_urbanoutfittersDOTcom

Moustache ornament, $8, urbanoutfitters.com

MustacheNapkinRings-5small_moderndoseDOTcom_$24

Moustache napkin rings, moderndose.com

handlebar_mustache_EDge of urgeDOTcom

Handlebar necklace, edgeofurge.com

the alex stache_demitasse jewelryDOTcom

The Alex Stache, demitassjewelry.com

shopmarc johnsDOTcom_mustaches on string_signed print_$20USD

Mustaches on String, signed print, shopmarcjohns.com

shopmarc johnsDOTcom_the mustaches chased him zealously_20

The Mustaches Chased Him Zealously, signed print, shopmarcjohns.com

 

This just in…an update from my brother-in-law. Just like a chia pet…his ‘stache keeps on growing.

Day 16 and Proud!

For more information and to support this very important cause, visit the Movember Foundation website.

29 Comments leave one →
  1. Pretty Project permalink
    November 16, 2009 9:52 am

    That is one funny pots. Burt sure knows how to pull a mustache! :)

    http://www.theprettyproject.com

  2. November 16, 2009 9:53 am

    i love those mugs and napkin rings.

  3. November 16, 2009 10:07 am

    ohhhh awesome. i want all of those mustache goods. namely the salt and pepper shakers.

  4. November 16, 2009 10:26 am

    I want those moustache mugs!

  5. November 16, 2009 10:57 am

    I’ll contribute to your collection here:
    Hitler
    Taking of Pelham 123

  6. November 16, 2009 10:59 am

    hey I posted some pics here with IMG SRC tag… it didn’t work…
    oh well…

    here are the image links… hopefully these will stick:


  7. November 16, 2009 11:03 am

    i love this. especially the salt and pepper shakers. and the… everything.

  8. November 16, 2009 11:14 am

    I have been married for 35 years to a man with a mustache and never seen him without it, pretty scary huh….love you post

    Deb

    • November 16, 2009 1:58 pm

      Oh my! That reminds me of one day when I was a child and my father shaved his mustache and I couldn’t quite figure out what was so strange about him…! He grew it back and hasn’t parted with it since :)
      Thank you for your comment; made me smile :)
      -J.

  9. November 16, 2009 11:56 am

    I particularly like the mustaches on string
    And I might add, Brad Pitt is fetching
    (Then he always is, regardless of style;
    is there a woman he cannot make smile?)

    DEE-lightful post – stashes are cool,
    Just takes the right face (or they look a fool),
    Though handlebar types and those turning down
    Tend to make mouths look like they wear a frown.

    Tell me, style guru – what do you think
    Of those who would pierce, and those who would ink?
    And while I’m asking, do “real men” wear pumps?
    (Those are the trends that give me goose bumps!)

  10. November 16, 2009 12:46 pm

    I can’t say Im mad about the the moustache! Lets hope this doesn’t become too much of a trend!

  11. Jordana permalink
    November 16, 2009 4:32 pm

    Thanks to everyone for reading and offering your comments. The poem is quite original and I’m happy everyone is enjoying the moustache products. The mugs are quite fun, I agree! Everytime I see the artwork, I smile. So comical!

  12. November 16, 2009 4:43 pm

    Glad to see somebody else celebrating the month for all things moustache. Me and about 5 friends have been doing a fund raiser all month growing our staches to raise money to fight world hunger. Please check out our blog at http://www.rightinthemustache.wordpress.com

  13. superalzy permalink
    November 16, 2009 4:58 pm

    Sometimes the moustache becomes more famous than the celebrity! I’m moustache obsessed. If I could grow one, I would wax it into lovely sharp points and stick little flowers on the ends. I adore all the stache jewelry. You’ve got a great site here!

  14. franca permalink
    November 16, 2009 8:05 pm

    Great post! enjoyed the celebrity pics and the mugs are so cute.
    Keep it up!

  15. November 16, 2009 8:16 pm

    My favorite belongs to Hercule Poirot

  16. November 16, 2009 8:30 pm

    I have never heard of this interesting foundation in dedication to moustaches and the tradition of the entire month of november, which they call, Movember.

  17. November 16, 2009 9:36 pm

    mustache like my father well…^_^…V D3pd

  18. November 16, 2009 9:57 pm

    Who knew there was so much art dedicated to mustaches? Nuttiness, I tell ya. Have you ever watched the short film, Growin’ a Beard? It’s great, and has a super cool soundtrack by The Gourds. http://www.growinabeard.com/

  19. November 16, 2009 10:32 pm

    I love a man who can rock a sweet stache!

  20. danakennedy permalink
    November 16, 2009 10:48 pm

    My son was 21 years old before he saw me without a ‘stache. I shaved it off last year for the first time since 1974. Now you have me thinking about letting it grow back!

    http://danakennedy.wordpress.com
    http://oldcameras.wordpress.com

  21. November 18, 2009 4:53 am

    Interesting post. I have made a twitter post about this. Hope others find it as interesting as I did.

  22. JJ New permalink
    February 24, 2012 7:42 pm

    As a winter bearder I wish movember was in March or April. I know so many more guys who who get involved since it is shaving time.

Trackbacks

  1. Moustache « Wonton Verbosity
  2. all about movember « the color plaid
  3. Moustache. « Gresshoppe
  4. Pollyanna Lightens Up and Licks the Pig Already « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom
  5. Marianne S (mariannes) 's status on Tuesday, 17-Nov-09 08:28:26 UTC - Identi.ca
  6. uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

