Skip to content

A New Era

January 4, 2011

Tom Ford Spring/Summer 2011 eyewear: I see a future in this.

Happy New Year!

Today I’d like to feature Tom Ford’s ad campaign for his new eyewear collection.

But before we get to these lovely eye pieces comes a little story about what happened on the night of December 28, 2010, and is the main reason why we’re featuring eyewear today. Oh yes.

My friend Brenda (left) joins me at The Bay's Moon collection launch this past summer. My eyeglasses were always a hit.

December 28, 2010: The End of An Era

Within hours of my birthday on December 29, I was at a friend’s home celebrating the holidays, my impending birthday and all the promise that comes with a New Year.

At some point late into the night, tired and relaxed, I removed my precious iconic eyeglasses and forgot that I lazily set them down on the sofa next to me. Of course what happened next is little surprise: I moved and crushed them. Split them, actually, right in the centre.

l.a. Eyewors Cornu eyeglass frames: my former self.

Broken heart: my eyeglasses are broken mere hours before my birthday-! Seriously!! :(

The significance of what happened was more than I could bear: the l.a. Eyeworks Cornu eyeglasses was my signature pair of eyewear-! They were fantastic on me and for the first time in my eyewear life (since grade 8) I felt that eyeglasses were part of me. Together we could brave the world and be a success!

How would I ever recover from this loss? Well, better to laugh than cry, and laugh we did.

After our laughter subsided and the evening ended, I came home completely down, ready to just crawl under the bed but- wouldn’t you know it- my perfect boyfriend had left a sweet surprise on the bed! All wrapped up and prettied with a bow was my birthday gift: a beautiful ukulele! How exciting!!! (If it hadn’t been for this most desired gift, I think that my broken eyeglass tears might have become real tears. Sigh.)

Mending a broken heart with a ukulele! Thank you Denis- you are the best boyfriend! xoxo

As you can imagine, I had a hard time falling asleep that night, worried that it was all over and that I would never find anything else that connected with me. I felt that my identity was jeopardized- cut off, my sense of self in a big question mark. I was an astronaut in outer space, my tether to the ship broken, me floating slowly without direction into the ether.

I’d bought the precious frames at Rapp Optical in the summer of 2009. They were on the sale rack, patiently waiting for the right match to walk through the door and give them a life (me). And what a life we had together: traveling across the world (well, Mexico), attending fashion events and seeing dear friends tie the knot.

These eyeglasses worked with every outfit, every day. I was constantly stopped because people wanted to admire them; I was told that they were my signature look. They were me and I was them.

The next morning on December 29th, my birthday, I walked into Rapp Optical and begged them to see what they could do. Sure enough, my worse fears were confirmed: the l.a. Eyeworks Cornu frames were out of production. Obtaining a replacement was impossible. Repairing them was not an option.

Defeated, I tried on a slew of other eyeglasses, nothing came close to making me feel better. I left the store with my broken glasses and went to Poutini’s House of Poutine for lunch and to plan my next move.

Poutine: the only food that could come close to making me feel slightly better. And yes, poutine IS a food.

A month before any of this happened, a friend had recommended a new place for eyeglasses: Pacific Mall. Located in Markham, it meant a bit of a drive to get there but I was told that it was a mecca for eyewear at greatly reduced prices. At this point it was worth a shot and so off I went. And I found-!

A New Era Begins

Now, let’s not get too excited- I didn’t find the Cornu eyeglasses, but much to my surprise, I found several pairs of eyeglasses that looked great on me and felt pretty good, too. Nothing comes close to my Cornus, but I’ll say that there were some very strong second-place finishes, one of which I gave a new home: my face.

I bought a new frame and ordered lenses all for a total of $160! Yes- that’s pretty darned amazing, isn’t it? And might I add that they were ready for me to pick up within 24h of submitting my prescription to the shop?

At this price, I’m going to be stocking up on eyewear this year. And since I bought a fairly distinctive pair, I’ll have to add something a little more neutral to my rotation.

And so what did I buy? A beautiful candy-coloured plastic frame with large lilac-pink front and silver temples thin-striped with black. They’re very bright and quite remarkable: they are a sugary-sweet smile on my face. I miss my Cornus but I’m getting over it thanks to my pretty new frames.

Me at Pacific Mall (left) and at home wearing my new eyeglasses.

Playing my birthday present- a ukulele! - for my cat and my boyfriend's listening pleasure.

Icon: The l.a. Eyeworks Cornu

Well, well. As it turns out, the Cornu eyeglasses that I so dearly loved are one of the l.a. Eyeworks eyeglass frames of high regard. Chances are (at least, I’m hoping) that the company will produce them again, and although it’s highly unlikely that new ones would ever be made in the fantastic blue and red swirl colour that I wore, I’ll be game to try some other colour variation.

I’ve already found one supplier online, Eyeglass.com, that offers the frame in different colours, and at the tune of $420, I will wait on ordering- for now. My next move is to email l.a. Eyeworks and speak to them about my heart/glasses-break, the company’s future collections, and would they happen to have a pair of blue and red Cornus kicking around by any chance?

UPDATE: I emailed l.a. Eyeworks and – Christmas 2011 came early -they have a pair of Cornu frames (the last one in the world)!!!!!!!!! And it’s in my swirly blue/red colour! OMG! It’s ordered and coming to mama :). Thank you so much l.a. Eyeworks- you’ve made my birthday and year!

Tom Ford Eyewear for Spring/Summer 2011

Among the many lovely styles that I coveted at Pacific Mall, there were a few Tom Ford eyeglasses that stood out from the rest. Vintage-inspired, the Tom Ford approach is right up my alley and I’m seeing a pair in my future.

Today we’re featuring Tom Ford’s collection of eyewear for spring 2011. I think you’ll agree that there are a few pieces here that would be right at home on the bridge of my nose (and quite possibly yours, too).

Tom Ford SS11

Tom Ford SS11

Tom Ford SS11

Tom Ford SS11

Tom Ford images courtesy of Tom Ford.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Jordana permalink
    January 4, 2011 10:54 am

    Oh dear Johanne! Your beauties broke – so very tragic. But I’m glad you made the most of the situation and you ventured out to Pacific Mall to find a beautiful, cheery replacement. Well done! I like how you scored some bubble tea while you were there…that is bubble tea, right?
    -J
    p.s. I wonder – have you written a song about your Cornu frames?

  2. January 4, 2011 11:17 am

    Thank you for understanding my sadness- it’s really, truly tragic. I’m not quite over it all, actually. I’m putting on a brave pinky-purple face.

    Yes we had a delish beverage at Pacific Mall: this one is a kiwi & mango juice/slushie with lychee jelly. It was so tasty! There are lots of bubble tea places at the mall- it’s definitely the way to browse the shopping booths.

    I agree- a song about my Cornu frames is in order. I’m making great progress on the ukulele- I tried sending you a video but the file was too large. I will try again ;).
    -J

  3. Sofia permalink
    January 4, 2011 11:47 am

    So sorry to hear about your glasses! I’ve become very attached to my own pair, but sprung for a new one recently and haven’t been disappointed. Variety is the spice of life and all that jazz. I will, however, keep all my fingers and toes crossed in hopes that you track down a Cornu pair. I recommend checking eBay and Etsy — you never know.

  4. January 4, 2011 1:01 pm

    UPDATE!!!

    I’ve found a Cornu pair! In MY COLOUR!!!!!!!!!!!

    l.a. Eyeworks has them in Los Angeles. I’m going to arrange for having them ship to me. I’m over the moon!

    Thanks for understanding my eyeglass pain, I’m so totally not over these eyeglasses and I’ll be happy to have the pink pair as a variety option in my face ;)

    -J

    • Jordana permalink
      January 4, 2011 3:34 pm

      Hooray! It’s a great day for you! Cornu frames in YOUR colour! Ab fab! Hip hip hooray for L.A. Eyeworks!
      -Jordana

  5. January 5, 2011 9:19 am

    Hey you are so pretty…..

    • January 5, 2011 10:11 am

      Thank you :)! They weren’t the best photos of me but what the heck, it’s kinda fun to autobiographize on my own blog once in a while…

      -J :)

  6. January 5, 2011 1:00 pm

    What a heart-rending story! “Sitting on glasses” is definitely a move I have experience with :( Your Cornus were indeed fabulous and looked great on you. Even before I saw the “update,” though, I still thought this story had a happy ending: the new glasses you bought look absolutely wonderful on you as well. You look cute and playful – that smile you’re wearing with them says it all! Anyways, now you will have two fashionable pairs to choose from every day. Perhaps this was all a blessing in disguise after all ;)

    • January 6, 2011 9:16 am

      Thanks eastcoastfoodie! I agree that my smile is the smile of a happy customer and I do quite like the new frames. They are very sweet-looking and I’m so lucky to have found them, although, like I said, there are many awesome styles at this newly-discovered eyewear mecca (Pacific Mall).

      Thanks for sympathizing with my breakage- I was actually surprised by how much I felt lost when the reality of it all sunk in. I didn’t realize how much they meant to me. I’m so lucky to have THE LAST PAIR IN THE WORLD come home to me-! Amazing!

      I hope you don’t sit on your new glasses any time soon; they look fantastic on you ;).
      -Johanne

  7. shannon permalink
    January 7, 2011 1:32 pm

    Thanks for sharing your story with us, Johanne! It had ups & downs and twists & turns. I’m so happy that you found a great new pair AND that you were able to get your hands on a pair of your signature eyewear! Happy New Year indeed!

Trackbacks

  1. Salvatore Ferragamo FW2011 « Fashion in Motion

Leave a Reply

