Skip to content

Million dollar baby

August 17, 2011
by
20110817-041828.jpg

More than a million thank yous to all of you: we've surpassed my ambitious, crazy dreams as to what this blog could be.

Today is August 17, 2011: the day that Fashion in Motion crosses into million site views territory.

I’m so deeply moved sharing with you what this blog means to me and how this huge, unbelievable million is really here.

It’s been less than three years since Fashion in Motion began without a real plan as to what it could do beyond allow me to self-publish about fashion- a life-long passion. Who knew that I could lap up 500 people to even pass through my writing-? It’s just little old me- who would read this?

My family and I cheered: 500 people is a lot of people- it’s bigger than us. Even my dad couldn’t possibly be accountable for that many clicks. And it just grew and grew- fast.

From the very beginning it was obvious that Fashion in Motion is a shared experience and not so much about me. I made new friends around the world whose blogs I read and admired and they served as models for creating successful columns, successful layouts and how to reach out to like-minded folks.

I woke up to random comments: kind words from readers, designers, friends and family. I received thank you mail from designers and corporate peeps, they appreciated being part of this space. I posted day after day, brought in a team to weigh in, started filming and producing videos of fashion events including LG Fashion Week in Toronto, built a fashion social network and worked with partners to feature products and give away some swag.

The best part was finding out that I’d inspired others to start blogs of their own and they’re all still going strong and, like me, can’t imagine not blogging.

Thank you so much to all of you who came by: family and friends, and everyone here accidentally searching for a related term or with the intention of checking out the Sac du jour.

Thank you to contributors Rachel, Marina and Sasha- you three made me feel so happy to share this project.

Thank you Denis for always believing in me.

And, of course, there’s Jordana.

Jordana, I have tears in my eyes as I write this and reflect on how much you mean to me. You’re a dear, dear friend, a fabulous writer and an inspiration in all that you do- from your art to your career, to your successful White Cabana and your bright happy smile. You’ve been my partner in FIM crime from the very beginning and this win is ours to share with the world. This adventure has brought us close together: united in fashion and the spirit of positive energy that basks on all things blog. Thank you, a million thank yous, to you.

With love and appreciation for all the support, humbled by all of this, and all the you who pass through,

Johanne

5 Comments leave one →
  1. steph permalink
    August 17, 2011 8:44 pm

    Congratulations Johanne!
    We’re all so proud of you and will continue to adore reading your creations on FIM.
    Cheers to your million BABY!!!!
    xox steph

  2. August 18, 2011 6:54 am

    Congratulations! Get out there and buy a million..ummm…pairs of shoes? Way to go!

  3. August 18, 2011 8:43 am

    Congratulations!!! Although I don’t comment much, I’m a devoted reader of FIM!!!

  4. August 18, 2011 9:18 am

    Thanks everybody, I’m so so happy about all the great connections this blog enabled me to create- meeting you is truly so sweet a win.

    Thank you! xoxox
    Johanne

  5. Natalie permalink
    August 18, 2011 12:46 pm

    Félicitations Johanne! Jonathan, Maxime and I are super proud of you.
    Natalie xo

Leave a Reply

