Skip to content

To Wear or Not to Wear: The Backpack Purse

September 12, 2011

I recently had a lengthy discussion with a friend about the backpack purse – otherwise known as the batchel or sackpack. While my friend was praising the practicality of this item I am of the opinion that they should be avoided.

I’m putting the question to our Fashion in Motion readers to try and help us settle the debate. What do you think? Yay or Nay for this scholastic fashion accessory? Vote and comment below!

Pyramid sling backpack, $325, Dooney & Bourke

nylon backpack, $175, Dooney & Bourke

Studio legacy backpack, $258, Coach

Signature small backpack, $258, Coach

backpack, Longchamp

Batchel - a satchel with back straps, £93, The Cambridge Satchel Company

Update: Fashion in Motion reader Lisa just sent me a link to this post in the New York Times featuring the EAYRSLEE convertible backpack. What do you think? Is it worth the $425 price tag?

EARSLEE Nicholson bag, $425, Gargyle

Images courtesy of Coach, Dooney & Bourke, Gargyle, Longchamp, The Cambridge Satchel Company.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2011 11:04 am

    I really couldn’t care less as to how practical it may seem- this is one thing that will never find its way onto my back-! Dare I say that I hate the batchel? (but love the word creation!)

    I’m obviously very against these and it has nothing to do with their reminder of school bells and homework. I find them really unsightly. I don’t even like to see them on other peopel. I hope they go away and never come back.

    -J

    P.S. Gosh these are such strong words! I really dislike this thing, eh?

  2. Christine permalink
    September 12, 2011 4:18 pm

    I don’t think I’d personally buy one – but I think they’re less awful if you wear it with both straps over one shoulder instead of as a backpack.

  3. September 13, 2011 3:36 pm

    Personally, I wouldn’t buy one. Those things are expensive and impractical! They look like they don’t hold much and the straps do not look sturdy at all. I’d rather invest in a nice tote bag like Longchamp or something for school :)

  4. Kay permalink
    May 17, 2012 12:14 am

    First off you picked the ugliest pictures!!! I have a backpack purse and I absolutely love it. It makes things so easier, and you don’t have to get the old grandma purses above. You can get cute backpack purses. They work very well with summer wardrobes.

    • Jordana permalink
      May 17, 2012 7:51 am

      Thanks for your comment Kay. It’s great that you find your backpack purse so useful. If you come across some cute ones, please leave a link. I’m sure others would be keen on seeing them too!
      Jordana

Leave a Reply

