Skip to content

Lovestruck review

September 22, 2011

The new Vera Wang fragrance, Lovestruck, available at drugs and department stores across Canada this fall

I love perfume.  You could say, I’m a bit of a junkie. I get obsessed with a scent and have to smell it, read about it and feel generally compulsive until I do. I don’t know a ton about fragrance but the more I learn the more I want to know.

I’m the kind of weirdo that will stop a person on the street and ask what they are wearing. Or try my hand at guessing. I think some people might find that creepy.   But I call it research.  Its the reason I ended up buying Coco Mademoiselle – a fragrance I would have thought would be way too girly for me.  I perfume perved on enough people that it convinced me to buy the damn scent.  Today it’s a staple in my perfume wardrobe.

But enough about me.

I was given a bottle of Vera Wang Lovestruck to sniff.  According to the press material, the concept is reflective of Romeo and Juliet and how crazy you can be when you’re in love.  First impressions are that the bottle design is meant to appeal to sixteen-year-old sophisticates.  The cap is made of a bunch of big deep purple plastic flowers and there is a matching organza bow.  Crazy In Love!

What does it smell like?  They say: “The perfume has top notes of pink guava and angelica flower, a heart of tuberose and lotus blossom and a drydown of precious woods and sheer musk.”  For me I get the guava if I really think about it but it doesn’t smell like jamming your nose into a luscious tropical fruit.  It smells like an eraser I might have had in grade three shaped like a guava.   Sweet, cloying and super synthetic.

I’m always excited by the possibility of tuberose – the heady, white flower that can be so, so right.  But sadly,  I can’t smell any tuberose at all.  As a tuberose devotee, I will continue to anoint myself with the blessed Carnal Flower by Frederic Malle: Worth every penny, ladies.

A Vanessa staple

But back to Lovestruck: after an hour, the novelty eraser fruity sweetness is mostly gone, as is most of the sweet scent.  The drydown is way less offensive than the initial blast.

Lasting power:  After two hours I can barely smell it on my wrist. A sign of less-than-upscale ingredients. Makes me think they blew the budget on the bottle design.

Iconic fashion designer with her fragrance, Lovestruck, at the launch in London

VERDICT: While not the worst thing I’ve ever smelt to me there is nothing distinctive or special.  While it didn’t give me a migraine, I’m pretty sure  I’d not want to be stuck on an airplane beside someone who just sprayed themselves with this stuff.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jordana permalink
    September 23, 2011 9:07 am

    Oh…but Vera does so well in the fashion department. Do we think she should skip the fragrance portion and continue mastering bridal wear? It is a pretty fun bottle though, I must say.
    Jordana

    • September 23, 2011 9:37 am

      I’m with you on the bottle design- I think it looks really fun, but maybe the oversized flower power top is a greedy gus on the beauty shelf?
      -J

Trackbacks

  1. New to the FIM block: Vanessa « Fashion in Motion

Leave a Reply

