Skip to content

Goody Hair Accessories

November 14, 2011

I recently had the opportunity to try out some new Goody hair styling products. I must admit that I’m not one to do anything fancy with my hair – I blow dry it and that’s about it. Wild, I know. I was excited to try out these new Goody items to really find out  a) if they were easy to use and b) if they actually held my hair in place.

I thought the best way to show you how the hair products worked was with a video demonstration. Have a look:

The Goody Ouchless brush is awesome. It’s comfortable and soft on my scalp. It also gets out the tangles which is high on my priority list.

Goody Ouchless brush & comb

The Goody Simple Styles spin pins are these two spiral pins that you screw into a bun. It took a bit of practice to get them to hold my hair in place but once I got the hang of it, these little pins worked perfectly. In the video you see them in a gold colour but I would prefer them in brown so that they’d blend in with my hair.

Next up on the demonstration video was the Goody Simple Styles twisty comb. A small simple piece of plastic but boy-oh-boy can it hold! I love this thing! I now carry it around in my purse and I’ve been using it regularly to pull back my hair. Again, I’d prefer it in dark brown so it won’t stand out so much. I can see how some people might like the contrast but monochromatic is more my style.

Goody spin pins, bun spiral & twisty comb

The last item I featured on the video was Goody Luxe Amelia Barrette. I just love having this extra sparkle in my hair. The design is simple and my hair is so secure when the barrette’s in place. Great, right?

Goody Luxe barrette & bobby slides

So, what do you think? Have you tried any of these or other Goody products? Any recommendations?

Many thanks to Goody for sending along these samples. Goody products can be found at Walmart and Loblaws.

Thanks to Craig G. for introducing me to the sounds of Caro Emerald.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Steph permalink
    November 14, 2011 9:32 am

    Cute vid Jordana!

    I like the twisty pins!

    Btw is that the Chanel watch on your wrist???

    • Jordana permalink
      November 14, 2011 10:41 pm

      Oh my goodness – video making is hard! It was fun to try it out though and I think it really is the best way to really show how these kinds of products work. The spin pins are awesome. They fully hold my hair in place and they’re kind of fun to use. And no – it’s not a Chanel – just your good ol’ $13 watch from Target! I blogged about it here: http://whitecabana.wordpress.com/2011/08/23/20-below-white-watch/
      Thanks for your comments Steph!

  2. Steph permalink
    November 14, 2011 9:32 am

    *spin pins

  3. Lori permalink
    November 14, 2011 5:46 pm

    This is hilarious; I love it. I recently purchased hair elastics which were NOT Goody, and never will again. Every single one broke within one or two uses. Goody it is from now on!

    • Jordana permalink
      November 14, 2011 10:43 pm

      Hmm…hair elastics are a tricky thing. I often go for the cheapest ones because I lose so many of them. But then they break or rip my hair out which definitely gets me angry. I’m sort of hooked on the Goody products at the moment – they seem kinder to my hair. I haven’t tried them on a run or any kind of fitness activity so I’m not sure if they’d stay in for that. Elastics are a necessity, I think.
      Jordana

  4. Kate permalink
    November 14, 2011 9:24 pm

    Sold!

    • Jordana permalink
      November 14, 2011 10:44 pm

      Ah…the video was that persuasive? Awesome!

  5. November 15, 2011 9:21 am

    OMG! This video is kind of amazing, Jordana! I’m so impressed with what you can do with your hair- all in one video take!! Seriously you could be a hairdresser if you wanted to.

    So – I’m super impressed with the twisty comb- I think I’d have a hard time figuring it out but the video clearly shows how to go one way then back, which I suppose is the secret-? I love the idea of having it tucked into my purse at all times- I try to carry toothy clips with me but this comb is so much neater and dressier than a hair claw.

    The spin pins really intrigue me- I really want to try them. The hair really stays in place?!?! I’m kind of fascinated by all of this.

    Thank you so much for the video- you did such a great job! You’re a star!
    -J

    (And you know how much I love your hair- this couldn’t be a better product testing fit!)

  6. sasha permalink
    December 15, 2011 9:39 pm

    i just have to say… thank god for google and thank god for this post. i bought the twisty comb today and couldn’t, for the life of me, figure out how to use the thing. my first stop was the goody website and, lo and behold, the product isn’t even listed!! so i googled “goody twisty comb” to no avail (lots of spin pins, though) until finally searching “‘twisty comb’ goody”. thank you, THANK YOU for this video. i was so disgruntled i even sent a message through the website…

    Dear Goody,

    You had me at the Spin Pin a year and a half ago. I loved it. So I bought a Twisty Comb today from Target and HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED SUCH AN EXCRUTIATING TIME ATTEMPTING TO FIGURE SOMETHING OUT! The instructions on the box are TERRIBLE. “Comb curve side up?” HA! Do you know what a curve is? Both sides are curved! It needs to say “concave side up”! And thanks for the video on how to use it – NAY – thank you for even featuring the product on your website! I searched high and low, wondering if I had purchased a discontinued product! Get it together, Goody. I’m not an idiot.. If I went through such hell to figure this out (thank you random blogger who posted a video tutorial), I can’t imagine what the other women who purchase your products go through. Lesson learned: if I don’t know what to do by just looking at the picture, then DON”T BUY IT because Goody won’t help.

  7. Taylor permalink
    January 29, 2012 12:59 am

    Thank you thank you thank you for the twisty comb tutorial:)

    • Jordana permalink
      January 29, 2012 8:20 pm

      You are more than welcome!

  8. August 27, 2012 1:37 pm

    Hi! I really need help on how to use the twisty comb but I can’t view your youtube video in my country. Would you be able to email me a copy of your tutorial? Thank you.

Leave a Reply

