Skip to content

Gaga’s Workshop at Barneys New York

January 2, 2012

If you live in NYC – or are a regular reader of blogs – then you’ve likely already heard of Gaga’s Workshop at Barneys New York. Just passed the collection of Prada suits for men, a relatively small section on the 5th floor of the Madison Avenue department store has been taken over by all things Gaga. Since I’m in NYC this week, I decided to check out this project in person.

Lady Gaga's Workshop, Barneys New York

While I’m not a major fan of Lady Gaga, I was definitely interested to see what all the fuss was about. Well, in my opinion, I really have no idea why there’s such an interest in this Lady Gaga-themed boutique. Among the over-sized neon sculptures is a whole lot of over-priced candy, tacky accessories, and small leather goods that seem a bit out of place. With Lady Gaga tunes blaring and bright lights shining down on a sparse collection of tees, this “workshop” offered little inspiration. While I wandered around the space, I couldn’t help but wonder why someone would need (or want) a $65 magnetic Lady Gaga dress-up set, a $9 lollipop, or $45 worth of press-on nails.

Gaga's Workshop, Barneys New York

Gaga's Workshop - key chains ($35) and magnet dress-up Gaga set ($65)

Gaga's Workshop, Barneys New York

Gaga's Workshop, Barneys New York

Lady Gaga snow globe ($95), Gaga's Workshop, Barneys New York

Lady Gaga biker snow globe ($95), Gaga's Workshop, Barneys New York

Motorcycle jackets ($525-$625), Gaga's Workshop, Barneys New York

Onesies ($38), Gaga's Workshop, Barneys New York

So it may come as no surprise that, besides the few photos I took of this project, I walked out of Gaga’s Workshop empty handed. What do you think of the collection?

Photos by Jordana.

Leave a comment