Skip to content

Nail on!

January 24, 2012

ColorStay nail lacquer by Revlon promises to last 11 days with the combined use of the ColorStay base and top coats. Yeah we're gonna tap that asap!

Okay okay, we already featured new spring nail polish colours last week, but this weekend we came across a product review about a new 11-day lasting polish.

And yeah, you wanna know about it, dontcha?

In case you’re not into nails or you’ve been buried under a giant rock of crushing digital negligence, our world has been taken over by the Shellac phenomenon.YES! With high shine that delivers flawlessly chip-free tips for two weeks (yes! two!) or more (seriously!), you can bet that the stuff is fused to your nails in a most mysterious process. In fact, the process is short of involving lasers (well- ultraviolet light- close enough). Removing the stuff also requires salon assistance and the at-home attempts can be devastingly scary (we’ve seen it. bad, bad idea. shudder).

That said, Shellac is lovely if you think you want to start it and never ever stop going into salons every three weeks for a mani or pedi. Did you know that the stuff is a resin and has been used on wood as a finish for years? Why, that makes a lot of sense.

So for the non-Shellacing sort, we’ve got a near-rival option by Revlon ColorStay.

For the 11-day amazingness, apply the ColorStay collection’s base coat, colour, then top coat. And then voilà! 11 days of gel nail-esque gloss despite recklessly washing dishes and suffering random dings on the streetcar. Sounds like a revelation.

We found an awesome nail lacquer fan blog, Squared Nails, where the product was tested and adored. We’re next on the testing block and practically racing to a department store as we type (!) to pick up the nude shade. The ColorStay collection boasts 32 modern shades of long-lasting good fun, so if you’re more into reds or blacks, there’s something here for ya.

Image courtesy of Revlon, where you can view the digitized colours and imagine what they really look like. Best chance: check out Squared Nails to see her three colour tests.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jordana permalink
    January 24, 2012 8:26 pm

    I’ve got CND Shellac on my nails right now. Day 5 – shiny, no chips, glorious! So far, I’m a fan. I haven’t experienced the removal process yet so my opinion may change. My last salon (non-shellac) mani lasted 2 – yes 2 – days and I was so annoyed. Might consider this Revlon Colorstay in the future, especially if it really will last 11 days!

    • January 25, 2012 4:20 pm

      They do look amazing, those Shellac nails. I’ve seen disastrous at-home attempts to get the stuff off- don’t do it!! Go in to get it off or get a new one instead when it’s time- save your nails the horror.
      -J

      • Steph permalink
        January 29, 2012 11:53 pm

        I tried the Shellac a few months ago. It was great for a few weeks. My biggest beef was that I couldn’t keep my nails short without wrecking the mani.
        It came off easily. I was able to peel it off no problem and my nails were undamaged. (I’ve also heard that soaking the nails in polish remover will get it off in 10 minutes)
        I’ve seen horrific nail issues from the gel nails.
        Anyway, I must try this 11 day polish!
        I’ll let you know how that goes!

      • January 30, 2012 10:18 am

        Thanks for your feedback! I have seen the horrors of a peel-back Shellac so I’m glad you didn’t suffer that situation.

        I went looking for the Revlon ColorStay at THREE separate locations and the display stand with the product was sold out of the top coats at all locations, as well as being sold out of more than half the collection! Bummer. I’ll try somewhere today- I guess :S.
        -J

  2. January 30, 2012 6:18 am

    Revlon colorstay looks so beautiful!! i used this nail polish really it is loveliness!! all this color so cute! if you will want to know some information about all wedding necessary products. Nail Fashion as well as others info. so you will can to visit this site for achieve some information.

  3. Jordana permalink
    January 30, 2012 8:39 pm

    @Steph – you just peeled off the Shellac? I’m on day 11 right now and there are zero chips. It’s glorious! My nails have grown though so it looks a bit odd if you stare at my nails up close. I’m sure I’m the only one who notices though.

    @Johanne – the Revlon ColorStay was sold out at three locations? It must be good! I’ll see what I can find in my neighbourhood. Although…I can never paint my nails as good as the people in the salon can!

    • February 1, 2012 1:19 pm

      YEAH! I was shocked and so disappointed. It would also cost me the price of 3 lacquers to get started though- the bottom coat, colour, and top coat- so that is a bit of a case of sticker shock, although I’m now in love with Chanel polish (which glides on smoothly like a dream and lasts longer than OPI and Essie- even when competing sans top coat for Chanel against them with top coats!) which is so much more expensive. The bottom and top coats are investments, yes, but still-! I am going to keep looking- on pay day.
      -J

      • February 2, 2012 1:31 pm

        Make that one more Shopper’s Drug Mart that is sold out of most colours and the top coat.

        How about we check out a Wallmart instead?
        -J :S

Leave a Reply

