Skip to content

Fragrance Review – L’eau de Chloé

January 31, 2012

Spring fling: L'eau de Chloé is a string of pearls, a latté in hand and a trip back to '86 at my friend's powder room

When I was nine, I loved going to my friend Jennifer’s house.

She was a year older and seemed to have her finger on the pulse. She was the only child of sophisticated parents and her home reflected that. On the main floor there were no obvious signs that a child lived there. As opposed to the toy-strewn chaos of my place, Jennifer’s house lacked any signs at all of a kid’s presence – it was like a hotel.

When we played, we were instructed to play in her in her neatly organized rec room, tucked away, deep in the basement. I didn’t mind being banished because in the bathroom- there was always a bar of Dove soap. We used fragrance-free, jail soap at my house, so this was a taste or scent of how the other half lived. In the commercials they didn’t even call it soap, it was a “beauty bar” and the fact that Jennifer was using it to wash her ten year-old hands was just…decadent.  I’d make any excuse to use the washroom so I could wash my hands. I loved how the soapy clean smell lingered on my skin- it was like perfume.

L’eau de Chloé is set to launch this February as a new interpretation of Chloé Rose (2008). It’s a beautifully light chypre-style fragrance that shimmers bright citrus up front and dries down to a warm, soapy rose. I’ts very pretty on the skin and hours later, it’s soft but still there.

(From Wikipedia- Chypre is the name of a family (or concept) of perfumes that are characterised by an accord composed of citrus top-notes, a floral middle, and a mossy-animalic base-note derived from oak moss and musks. Chypre perfumes may be modified by other notes such as patchouli (most often), vetiver, labdanum, ambergris and sandalwood oil. Read more about chypre here.)

As a scent, it’s sheer and girly, and very suitable for day time because it’s “clean” smelling. The rosy smell comes from rosewater (which is probably what triggered the soap scent memory).

I think the corrugated glass bottle is absolutely gorgeous (pictured at top). It reminds me something that belongs on a vanity dressing table of a well-heeled young woman:

Why, doesn't every upstanding gal's dressing room look like this? Chloé says oui

L’eau de Chloé is a very pretty feminine fragrance. It’s a perfect spring scent that is easy to wear- especially with pearls. Which you have since you’re a well-heeled young woman.

Images courtesy of Chloé. L’eau de Chloé ($82 and up for the Eau de Toilette) is widely available across Canada at department stores and cosmetics counters such as Sephora.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2012 7:51 am

    Oh! It sounds so lovely–but it is just so beautiful and somehow optimistic in appearance too (if that’s possible!)

    • February 1, 2012 1:14 pm

      Sue- anything is possible. I had a whiff of it and I think it’s really lovely. The bottle is truly pretty- very vintage looking, the glass detail is so nice, the ribbon is precious in that soft green. Are we craving spring or what?!

      The scent is quite fresh, I found it pleasant and I can imagine a lot of gals wearing it this coming season.

      -J

  2. February 1, 2012 1:33 pm

    Thank you Vanessa for this fun and so informative review! I love learning about fragrances through your nose and experiences with scent- what a great story about your friend’s lush accommodations- um, home. I had a vibrant decorative soap collection when I was a little girl and I had nearly 100 collected…. a few years ago I started to use them. Can you believe I had them with me all this time?!? I guess I didn’t have the heart to throw out all those cute shapes- animals, nature, insects, and randoms like a hand (my sister and I coveted that one- it even had the loveliest fingernails). I’m still using them as hand soap- I choose them according to the season, my mood, or who’s coming over for dinner.

    But- back to L’Eau de Chloe- I am really excited about this fresh scent and I agree that the bottle is so pretty and elegant. Thanks for telling us about it!
    -J

Leave a Reply

