Skip to content

Inspiration: Menswear

May 14, 2012

It’s rare that I feature menswear on my Monday column here at Fashion in Motion but every once in a while as I browse the web I am completely struck by ease and variety of menswear. Today I’m featuring the work of two of the biggest streetstyle photographers, Scott Schuman and Tommy Ton, who have captured the surprisingly (to me, anyway) diverse nature of men’s fashion.

Photo by Scott Schuman

Photo by Scott Schuman

Photo by Scott Schuman

Photo by Scott Schuman

Photo by Scott Schuman

Photo by Scott Schuman

Photo by Tommy Ton

Photo by Tommy Ton

Photo by Tommy Ton

Photo by Tommy Ton

Photo by Tommy Ton

Photo by Tommy Ton

Photo by Tommy Ton

Photo by Tommy Ton

It’s not until I really look at photos like the ones here that I notice how much thought and detail goes into menswear. The colour combinations, the fine workmanship, the layers of fabric, and the contrasting styles represented in these images really do make me appreciate the creativeness of menswear.

Images by Scott Schuman at The Sartorialist and Tommy Ton at Jak & Jil.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 14, 2012 5:30 pm

    I always enjoy looking at well-dressed men and I suspect I’m not alone. Thanks for this post! What makes these even so fab is yes- that they’re shot by two of today’s greatest street style photographers and we can tell. I also appreciate the togetherness that goes into these looks- with fewer options to play with (no skirts, no dresses, no heels) men have to be even more thoughtful about assembling looks.
    Great stuff! Inspiring for us all!
    -J

Leave a Reply

