Skip to content

Fashion faux pas Friday: jogging through a photo shoot

June 1, 2012

Victoria’s Secret model Elsa Hosk holds branded balloons on the Brooklyn Bridge for a photoshoot launching the company’s PINK store in the hood. Joggers (normal people) truck on through

Now I know a few joggers and I think that they’re nice, conscientious people. But there’s always a few who just ruin it for everyone, aren’t there?

I do get annoyed when I’m strolling casually on a sidewalk and all of a sudden comes a jogger roaring by, dodging fellow pedestrians, dogs, strollers, and just lazy Starbucks café’d window shoppers. Sure, we all share the sidewalk, but there are always countless running trails and quiet streets within inches of where we’re at.

Is there such a thing as the Entitled Jogger personality? I always end up thinking that there’s a kind of “Look at me! I’m jogging! I’m so fit! I don’t care you’re enjoying your whipped cream caramel mocha on a sunny day! I’m not! Move!” vibe.

For me, the ones that take the cake are the bold rush hour joggers who dash around the financial district downtown while all the suits are rushing to grab a sushi tray to go. Seriously!?

So I had to share this photo of a Victoria’s Secret photo shoot-in-the-making on the Brooklyn Bridge yesterday, where model Elsa Hosk is posing with balloons for the neighbourhood’s launch of its very own PINK store. And there you have in the background some joggers who, unlike other ones, stumbled upon the shoot and decided that no, they wouldn’t alter their route for the day, but rather would just go on through the shoot. If variety is the spice of life, this is what we’d call a no spice day. Hey joggers- maybe you think you’re really, really fast. (see pic).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Steph permalink
    June 1, 2012 12:35 pm

    Okok.
    Unfortunately some do ruin it for everyone with their sense of entitlement on the sidewalks.
    Perhaps it’s more prevalent in a beachy neighbourhood … Or WPG’s Wellington Crescent in River Heights?!
    I must admit… Ive been known to run past BDI on a busy Sunday afternoon… Puppy in hand instead of ice cream. ;)
    Oh right, that was the other thing. They’re runners. You just simply don’t jog a marathon! ;)

    • June 4, 2012 10:29 am

      Ahhhhhhhhh okay. I think that if I titled it “Running through a photo shoot” it would sound exciting, but yes I agree that they’re runners, not joggers. Although if I had to do a marathon, I’d be jogging it :S.
      -J

  2. June 1, 2012 1:03 pm

    haha! This happens to me all the time…
    http://www.theflamboyante.com

    • June 1, 2012 1:55 pm

      Well then obviously you should be IN the photo shoot!
      -J

      • Steph permalink
        June 1, 2012 6:21 pm

        It think that would be great! Lol!

Leave a Reply

