Skip to content

Nine West fall shoes – extended sneak peek

June 5, 2012
20120516-010004.jpg

Beautiful cut-out detail on a red suede bootie from Nine West’s fall 2012 collection

With  many pretty things on display at Nine West for fall, I thought I would complete the sneak peek of the preview with a few notes on trends presented at the event.

The Riding Boot

Yes! After many seasons of elegant riding boots for fall, it’s still here. I love the riding boot- sleek and uber cool in a Jackie O kind of way. Our fave is the croc-pressed leather one with gold buckles at the ankle (pictured below). Gorgeous.

20120516-010024.jpg

The croc leather boot with three gorg gold buckles

Booties

Ankle-height footwear continues to be strong this season. It’s taking me years to get into booties- I still don’t have a pair – but I’m thinking that with the fun embellishment we’re seeing for fall (fringes, beautiful shaping at the cuff, and the claw foot shape reminiscent of Alexander McQueen’s Armadillo shoes worn by Daphne Guinness – see pics below) I will likely join the party.

20120516-010038.jpg

Fringed booties are just pure fun

I love the rounded heel and curved arch, and in blue suede, it’s pretty cool

The Alexander McQueen Spring 2010 collection’s Armadillo shoes. They’re kind of amazing, aren’t they?

Daphne Guinness first wore Alexander McQueen’s Armadillo shoes in 2011

The Ankle

In case you haven’t noticed, ankle straps are on everything. Some people worry that the ankle strap makes them look shorter, cutting off the lean line from foot to the top of the leg. Well, it does, but it also defines the foot/shoe area, which is not a bad thing if you’re wearing very sexy shoes.

20120516-010101.jpg

Colour blocking is huge for fall and we’re seeing the ankle strap on all styles

Here it is: an ankle strap broader than ever with a statement heel. And in suede! It’s a head-turner.

Suede, delightful suede

Ah, suede. We love you. And we’re so happy you’re on every style of heel and boot this coming fall. Purple suede knee-high stiletto boots? Disco platforms? T-bar dancing shoes? Mmm…

20120605-110753.jpg

20120605-110831.jpg

Shiny Things

The glitz is everywhere. We’re really into the patent-tipped pumps for the office- bringing together conservative suiting with a comfortable heel and a silver toe (below). We’re also super pumped about the shiny loafers, mirrored heel ankle strapped suede pumps- fully loaded, as they say.

20120605-110853.jpg

20120605-110910.jpg

Here we’re also seeing slim-but-there detailing on the pump’s sole, sequins on a satin pump, and good old-fashioned all-over sparkles

20120605-110928.jpg

Patterned sequins give the shine a little kick in the fairy dust

20120605-110957.jpg

How can you not want these? Disco is another hot trend for fall

Fur

The obvious is that there’s quite a bit of animal print out there this fall (spring is for sailor stripes, fall is for animal prints) but what really has us excited is the pony hair flats and buckled court shoes (second below). All class.

20120605-111019.jpg

20120605-111105.jpg

Accessories

Figuring out how to combine the clutch and the cell phone, these nicely-sized clutches do the trick. We like the compact size of these patent-leather ones below and the two-tone leather with zip detailing that welcomes mismatching your accessories.

20120605-111136.jpg

Very handy for the gal’s night out on the town

20120605-111200.jpg

Hard to tell, but there’s a leather side and a suede side to this clutch. Wear it with black shoes if you don’t have blue ones- it will be amazing

One last trend note:

Silver. It’s totally missing. There’s never been a better time to go bold gold.

Images courtesy of me.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Jordana permalink
    May 16, 2012 10:56 pm

    We haven’t even gone through spring and summer and it seems we both have fall on our minds. I realized too late that I didn’t feature any summer looks for men on my post yesterday. Everyone in the photos I featured is pretty bundled up.
    Anyway – these fall shoes look gorgeous. I especially like the croc boot. Super chic! Looks like we can expect some great things from Nine West in the upcoming months (as always, I guess – I’m such a fan of the brand).
    Jordana

    • May 17, 2012 8:58 am

      I really liked your men’s post, and to be fair, no one is really dressing up in full-on summer wear at this time of the year (unless they’re in Majorca). All the men looked in season to me, and thankfully summer is on the way and I’m sure we’ll both be doing features on all the latest. I’m really liking the variety of maxi dresses for women this season, and for men I’m really into the narrow short.
      -J

      • Jordana permalink
        May 17, 2012 9:52 am

        Okay. Phew. We’re still working with layers. I know I still am!
        I love that you mentioned maxi dress – I JUST got one this past weekend. Nothing fancy. Just a plain brown one. Not entirely sure that it’s flattering actually but it’s comfortable and easy to wear.
        Jordana

      • May 17, 2012 1:34 pm

        I love the maxi- I think it looks great on everyone, really, and this season it’s all about how you belt it, so get a few fun belts to mix it up and you’ll feel like you can jazz it up with a metallic skinny belt, or make it more boho with a woven suede and crochet belt. So fun!
        -J

  2. May 17, 2012 7:41 am

    OMG Fringe booties fringe booties fringe booties!

    PS Johanne-I have an Oka insight for you.

    • May 17, 2012 8:55 am

      Hi! Yes the preview was fantastic. I love those booties too- so fun!
      I’ll post more Nine West pics soon.

      Oka insight!?!? Can’t wait for this!
      -J

      • May 17, 2012 9:23 am

        also, can you guys tell me where I can get a nice, versatile summer pantsuit? am craving for some reason. In case you come across one.

        and will write you re OKA when I am not procrastinating–I mean going–to the gym.

      • May 17, 2012 1:33 pm

        Sue, have you ever dropped into Bedo on Queen West? They always have amazing separates and fab coordinating dresses for either work/cocktail. I always feel impressed with their collections and their stuff is good quality, from Montreal, not pricey. I love a pant suit- so practical- and you can now get either slim leg or wide leg.

        I’d also try The Bay downtown on Queen at Yonge since they have really great new collections (I like Rachel by Rachel Ray’s stuff among others). And believe it or not in the last few years I’ve picked up all my suiting pieces from Zara on Queen West- they do a fab blazer, amazing fitting pencil skirts. Never tried on the pants though but everything I’ve bought still looks great (and actually way more expensive- people always think I shop expensivo) and it actually lasts.
        Let us know when you find something!
        -J

      • May 18, 2012 12:34 am

        Thank you for all this. Wrote it down. Will let you know!

  3. Jordana permalink
    June 6, 2012 9:28 am

    I was in Nine West on Monday and they’re having a sale. Just FYI. Their summer collection is just as pretty as their fall collection!

    • June 6, 2012 3:56 pm

      Thanks for the heads up! I am looking for some summer sandals and may pop in there.. although since comfort is a premium in my books, and I just discovered the new UGG Australia store (yes!) off Bloor St. near Bay, I may just go for some nicely-padded flats or wedges ;). The UGG store is a must-see! I took pics, will post!
      -J

Leave a Reply

