Skip to content

Beauty: MAC’s So Chaud Lipstick

June 11, 2012

If you’ve been reading Fashion in Motion for a while now you probably know that while I love clothes and accessories and feel very confident in my outfit styling skills, I do feel that I lack a whole lot of knowledge in the beauty department. My beauty routine is fairly simple – I use whatever shampoo and conditioner is on sale (or is sent to us for review – thanks!) and I use either this under-eye concealer or this one depending on which one I grab first out of the drawer. Everyday on my lips I wear Chapstick or something I pick up at Joe while I get some grocery shopping done. For evening I wear Joe liquid eyeliner and Maybelline Great Lash mascara. My day and night routines rarely change unless Johanne comes over to teach me about eye shadow or my sister is in the mood to straight-iron my hair. I wouldn’t say I have absolutely no interest in make-up but I am much more interested in clothes, shoes, and accessories (and a whole bunch of other things) than I am in beauty products. It seems a bit peculiar, I know, considering that I’m in the business of fashion blogging. But it’s the truth.

Okay – so now that you know a little bit more about me, let me get to the point of this post. Last week I read this post on A Cup of Jo and I was really taken by Caroline’s red lips (the pony tail isn’t so interesting to me because this is a style I’m actually quite capable of recreating).

Caroline’s So Chaud lips, photo by Jamie Beck, via A Cup of Jo

A coworker and I had a lengthy discussion about whether or not I could pull off the same lip colour and she assured me that I could. So off I went to the MAC store and asked the saleswoman for So Chaud. She instantly knew what I was talking about and I was impressed. I tried it on, asked for her opinion, told her about my beauty routine, and then we decided that I should give it a try. So last week I made my first ever MAC purchase. Exciting, right?

So Chaud lipstick by MAC Cosmetics, photo by Jordana

Fast forward a couple of days and it was a friend’s bachelorette party. I thought that this would be a great night to test out my So Chaud lips. And guess what? My in-the-know friends said that the colour suited my complexion (I also think they were in shock). Yay! I’d say it was a successful purchase.

Jordana’s So Chaud lips, photo by BG

I’m looking forward to wearing So Chaud again soon even though I’m definitely not ready to adopt it as my everyday lipstick. Oh – and one last thing – although I don’t have much to compare my MAC lipstick to, I was fully impressed by how long it lasted. I felt like I didn’t even need to reapply it (but I did – just to be sure).

What do you think?

What is your go-to colour for day and evening?

Note: Have you read Johanne’s lipstick story?

Photos via A Cup of Jo, Jordana, and BG.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2012 9:37 am

    Jordana~ it looks beautiful on you! I really like the tinge of orange in this shade – it’s a really WOW colour and you pull it off naturally. Have you not worn red before? It seems like a no-brainer to me- it’s totally your colour for day or night.

    I started to wear to work a bright red colour (also MAC) similar to So Chaud about a year ago and I’ve since adopted red lipstick as my everyday colour. I’m now wearing the Chanel Hyde Park, mind you, but the bold lip colour has garnered me so many compliments! And the best part is that when you wear a red lipstick, somehow everyone thinks you look dressed up- it makes your outfit put together. Interesting. Have you noticed that? Let me know what happens as you take your So Chaud to the streets! I love it on you! And as a girl with a full MAC collection, I want it!!
    -Johanne

    • Jordana permalink
      June 11, 2012 11:23 am

      I can always count on you to cheer me on! Thanks Johanne! It’s true – I have tried red in the past (Revlon) but I haven’t got into the habit of wearing it out often. I think I prefer the So Chaud colour. I’ll try and make it work for me this summer and I’ll be sure to let you know if I adopt it for daytime wear!
      Jordana
      p.s. I loved your Chanel story!

      • June 11, 2012 5:13 pm

        Thank you- the Chanel story and the lipstick I now wear every day have inspired many gals over the past few months- lipstick is so hot this summer, it’s actually hipper than lip gloss, which is quite a seasonal flip!
        Yes, let’s see how the summer lip goes for you and then we’ll strategize for fall!
        -J

  2. Jennifer permalink
    June 11, 2012 8:57 pm

    What a great colour!! Oh so chic!
    ~JAM

Leave a Reply

