Skip to content

Summer Essentials: The washed denim shirt

August 1, 2012

Today I write what’s on my back: my trusted light wash denim shirt. Mine is Levi’s, but this one at J. Crew will be perfect for your city to cottage yo-yoing. $78USD at J.Crew

What a perfect occasion to revisit the chambray shirt a.k.a. light wash denim shirt than in the middle of summer (happy August 1!) when after so many weeks of 30-plus weather, I’m reaching for a cardi when the thermometre dips to 25.

When the chill comes – and it does after you’ve been baking all day under that searing sun- slip on the light weight, light wash denim shirt. You could be in mid-BBQ or campfire build- we will be in a mere two days.

We’re huge fans of tying the front ends of a denim top in a front knot – and note that it doesn’t have to be tight. It’s fun and feels youthful without looking tacky. Do it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jordana permalink
    August 6, 2012 8:25 am

    I’m on the hunt again for one! And I actually tried on this J.Crew one and the fit was horrible on me. Made me sad. :( I wonder if any of our readers bought this one. It feels great!

    • August 7, 2012 11:35 am

      Thanks for this feedback- I love my denim light wash shirt and it’s from Levi’s.. last year’s though. Hope you’ll find one that you like- perhaps on your exciting Floridian getaway?
      -J :)

Leave a Reply

