Skip to content

The other caviar

November 29, 2012

The “caviar” nail is the application of miniature beads to the surface, adding texture and dimension. Nailistas recommend an ‘accent’ nail of this add-on but going whole hog is super festive. The Ciaté kit of pink polish and caviar beads has everything you need, $25 at Sephora

Up until very recently I had very little exposure to caviar. As is, none except for looking at the small cans through display cases at the St. Lawrence Market and wondering what it tastes like, how big a beluga whale really is, and if the hype was all that.

And then BAM- last month I’m sitting at a ridiculously decadent caviar-themed 6-course brunch scooping caviar with a mother-of-pearl spoon from a $1,100 can by Canada’s finest caviar label, Acadian Sturgeon and Caviar. I guess you’d say I was not disappointed and (big surprise) I love caviar.

Highly recommending this Canadian Acadian caviar

Last month was really all about caviar (and champagne)- at the American Express experiential event at the Shops at Don Mills, I had the opportunity to have a “caviar” mani. Somewhere in the evening’s bubbly I fizzed out of trying one on- probably because I had out-chatted the nail artist. Today I propose a toast to caviar’s ever-expanding product line with a fun nail kit from Sephora.

The Ciaté caviar manicure kit also comes in sexy blue-black

The nail caviar concept is a London idea that’s bang-on with today’s nail art trend. The small pearls are applied on top of a polish and then voilà – party time. The Ciaté kit vavailable at Sephora is a perfect self- or friend-gift and includes everything to deliver on that fancy promise. My personal fave is the black-blue combo (above) but the multi-coloured kit is rather festive and really will go with everything.

Why do this? Well, as a gal who hasn’t really gotten into nail art this past year (magnetic polish, gel nails- the return, crackle, tip dip, etc.), this beady bit of detail appeals to lazy polish people like me. I don’t want multi-step complicated, uber-designed nails- I want fun. High gloss is my idea of a good time, so the caviar finish is a touch of disco to the basic mani. And it’s super fast and easy to do, requires really no skill, so I won’t have to do much to take the nail to the next level.

And yes, you got me- I want caviar on my fingers.

Available at Sephora.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2012 11:39 pm

    i tried this and it was so fun! they spiced up any outfit and are great for parties

  2. November 30, 2012 12:27 pm

    Cool! Happy to hear that it was fun to wear. I can see that it would be more special than the other nail art out there. I want to try this look!
    -J

  3. December 3, 2012 11:56 pm

    wow! That looks awesome. I think it might be good for an at opening…

Leave a Reply

