Skip to content

Just one thing: my hood

February 19, 2013
My crazy red down jacket rated for Mount Everest climbers regularly gets an airing in Toronto

My crazy red down jacket rated for Mount Everest climbers regularly gets an airing in Toronto

Why is it that I always get a reaction with this on? Maybe it’s the hugemongous size of this 800-fill goose down parka that North Face introduced more than a decade ago to outfit Mount Everest climbers. I’m not making this up- this coat is rated for the highest peak climb on Earth.

And here in Toronto, people always smile when they see my hood up- it does extend my head by about eight inches. Pointing at it while giggling happens regularly. But no matter- I am the warmest, coziest gal and that’s why I bought this extreme weather lightweight parka. Oh yeah, that’s the other thing- it’s as light as a feather because the outer shell is a micro-thin wind-proof, rain-proof nylon. The inside liner is blended with aluminum to keep in all that body heat. I’m fancy.

It’s my favourite coat. It’s brilliant red in that very North Face kind of way. So if you see this coming down the sidewalk, stop me and say Hi for a change.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2013 12:27 pm

    I LOVE IT! I would go for winter walks so much more often, and of course, you look awesome in it–even the half of your face I can see!

    • February 20, 2013 1:10 pm

      Thanks Sue, it’s essential for me to be cozy 100% of the time/year. It’s a sensational parka- I love its weightlessness. I could be naked in there at -40, it’s THAT warm.
      -J

Leave a Reply

