Skip to content

Yours cheesily, Johanne

March 27, 2013
I know you know me as a fashionista, but this is how the other half (of me) lives: fresh herring on the campfire with chard and tomatoes

I know you know me as a fashionista, but this is how the other half (of me) lives: cooking up fresh herring on the campfire with chard, onions and tomatoes

If I wasn’t blogging about fashion, I’d be gabbing about food and there would be a lot of cheese talk.

Sometimes people tell me that they’ve never met anyone who likes cheese as much as I do. Or oysters. I say, ha!- you haven’t met my sister! She and I are peas in that happy foodie pod.

And then I found Sue Riedl- cheese gal extraordinaire- via her article about Oka cheese in the regular column she pens for the Globe and Mail. Sue’s column, “The Spread”, is about cheese, but her exploits span the kitchen list: Sue is a trained chef, a Canadian Grand Prix Cheese competition judge, and a solid resource via the Globe and Mail’s instructional how-to articles and web cooking series, Chef Basics. She’s funny and charming, takes her blog on the dining road, and has damn good taste. She has a cheese fridge in her house.

And so after more than a year of being an obsessive commentator on Cheese and Toast, I casually pitched that I’d love to be a contributor of hers. Sue went for it (thanks, Sue!) and look at me now:

This is kind of a dream-come-true and makes me so giddy thinking that I'm blogging about food, my other love

This is kind of a dream-come-true and makes me so giddy thinking that I’m blogging about food, my other obsession. It is an honour to be published on Sue’s amazing blog

You already know me from my contributor gig on award-winning design blog White Cabana under the helm of Jordana, our Monday columnist here. So now I’m letting the foodie loose on the digiworld starting with cooking Saag Paneer for the office Valentine’s Day potluck last month. I recorded every detail- it was as if I knew I’d be doing this.
Check out my post and see how it all turned out.

It's official!

It’s official! I’m here and *here*

Thanks again for reading me and I look forward to seeing you here at Fashion in Motion, at Cheese and Toast, and White Cabana.

Johanne

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jordana permalink
    March 27, 2013 2:01 pm

    YES! It’s about time you tap into your foodie side! Congrats!
    J
    p.s. I haven’t met anyone that loves oysters as much as you. I do count myself as a cheese fan too though!

    • March 27, 2013 3:26 pm

      Thank you my fellow Jo-jo, partner in FIM crime and blogger sensation in her own right!

      Yes I’m happy to be writing for Sue, Cheese and Toast is so fun and I’m looking forward to dropping my new official title, Hostess, as often as possible.
      -J

  2. March 28, 2013 8:02 am

    I could not have been more excited to open my Fashion in Motion email this morning! Wow!

  3. March 29, 2013 8:05 am

    Amazing! You are a woman of great taste(s)!

    Good for you Johanne!

Leave a Reply

