Skip to content

Fashion in Motion: mucking in mukluks this spring

April 2, 2013
20130326-111528.jpg

Another day at the CBC: note the atrium green wall reflected behind me. AND my mukluks. Amazing life I’m living

I love my Manitobah mukluks, they’re just so awesome. I’ve even snuck them into the CBC office although I realize that they’re quite casj in a, let’s go dog-sledding, kind of vibe. Well I suppose if I’m getting away with that, it will be at the CBC- home of Canuck archives and old-school career librarians.

I like furry mukluks, I like deer hide mukluks. I like moccasins, I like suede fringes. I like it all.

Here are my mukluks in a mid-gatherer height with wheat detail and suede cording tie. Gorg

Here are my mukluks in a mid-gatherer height with wheat detail and suede cording tie. Gorg

A few weeks ago I wore them in with a pair of dark-washed denim and a chambray cotton shirt in an otherwise known as Canadian Tuxedo moment. I do like to wear denim with denim when the denim is a different fit and/or colour: baggy light-washed shirt with fitted dark-washed jeans. Or skin-tight light-washed shirt with the same baggy light-washed shirt.

Here in the top image you see that the look is very easy-going and the slouchy deer hide blonde mukluks have a lovely wheat pattern burnt into the leather. I love their clean, no-hassle vibe, and they are super comfortable. Sometimes I wear them indoors- they’re just a fun, cozy good time.

20130326-111550.jpg

That’s my spring Chanel lipstick I brought out for a punch of pink. Remember when I wrote about that? And the Swarovski beetle pendant for spring- awesome

Images by me.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Steph permalink
    April 4, 2013 9:58 am

    Well done again Joh!
    Those mocassins are amazing! I especially live that they’re leather – not suede. Easier to wear in the spring & keep them looking fab!

    • April 8, 2013 9:45 am

      Yes I love these ones in the blonde leather, but my next pair will probably be the black fur with flower beading- I love those I could steal them from someone I know…….
      -J

  2. Jordana permalink
    April 6, 2013 6:55 pm

    I do love a good Canadian tuxedo! Looking stylish Johanne! And the boots are comfy and warm, I’m sure!

    • April 8, 2013 9:42 am

      Jojo, they are amazing. I always feel good wearing them, and you know I enjoy wearing them around the house more than anything. They make me feel a little more dressed up than wearing slippers, which is a must for me.
      -J

  3. Jen permalink
    March 3, 2014 5:51 pm

    How have your mukluks held up? I just got the same ones, sooo cute, but a bit tight. The site said they ran big and to size down. Did yours stretch at all?

    • March 20, 2014 2:15 pm

      Mine are in great shape but I tend to take very good care of my footwear. There was some stretch because they are leather and the fur inside does pad down. I order a size down in Mukluks and have not been disappointed – ever! I adore them and practically live in them!
      J

Leave a Reply

