Skip to content

What are you wearing?

July 11, 2013
This is probably the most liberating and confusing season of trends in history. Over at Urban Outfitters, as you can see, who knows what's really the trend and how to wear it

This is probably the most liberating and confusing season of trends in history. Over at Urban Outfitters, as you can see, who knows what’s really the trend and how to wear it

If this hasn’t been a confusing trend season, then I don’t know what is.

This afternoon I took a lunch break and walked to Marshall’s on John street in Toronto. I’ve never really gone in there- which is to say I’ve never made it past the shoe section at the front of the store. If they don’t have me at the shoe candy at the front, then why go deeper?

Today I did go deep- I even went to the second floor’s lingerie department- and I didn’t buy anything. Maybe it’s all the online browsing I’m doing these days, maybe it’s the fact that I can’t bring in more clothes when my closet is filled to the brim and I’m donating quite a few belongings since I’ve just moved. We could even call it Moving Xtreme: I’m even selling my grandmother’s china.

Back at Marshall’s clearance section there was a silver snakeskin-esque disco shiny plus beaded thong sandal with a brown leopard print bottom and metal chain along the t-bar. You could call it trend, fully-loaded.

In the dress department I saw long and slim two-tone grey thin-striped jersey maxis, a coral sleeveless A-line mod cut à la 60’s complete with white lace ribbon down the front- I looked twice- it could have been vintage. There were also 70s hippy mini-caftan beach cover-ups, 90s mesh tennis flapper dresses, a few 70s tie-dye jersey maxis with a 90s lace-up racer-back, 80s oversized sweatshirts with 2012 spikes on the shoulders, another had punk/ skater slashes in rows down the back. Trend overload.

How many trends can we fit in one sandal? Let's count:

How many trends can we fit in one Guess sandal? Let’s count: two-tone, metallic, tribal, wedge, snake print, top stitching, and orange.

What happens to you when you see all this? It’s like a classic case of mixed messages on a date that’s not sure where it’s going.

There were cut-off shorts next to cuffed mini denim shorts and long-cotton dress shorts and acrylic floral-printed play suits meant to look like vintage, but just looking like new hipster.

Too much floral mixed with ruffles and laces and spikes.

I would love to know how women are shopping these days. I’m certainly seeing some well-dressed gals on the streets- are they more readily finding the best pieces for their body and style, or is it a perfect time to play with a new trend idea? This is not a moment of an “it” silhouette like the national importance of all women wearing the kitten heel. What we’ve got is a full buffet.

My curiosity is piqued. I wonder what’s next-?

Looks like the home decor industry is going through the same choose-your-own-adventure moment

Looks like the home decor industry is going through the same choose-your-own-adventure moment

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

