Skip to content

I thought about buying $2,000 shoes

November 14, 2013
20131114-210926.jpg

Not just any $2,000 shoes, but *these* crazy spaceship awesome shoes

When I was in New York for our thanksgiving weekend, I stayed in the coolest loft in Soho. And across the street is a shoe store with shoes in glass boxes in the windows and they looked like space ships.

The special edition shoe

The special edition Nova shoe comes in silver, rose gold and black

I thought I would come back to see these again and try them on.

So I did.

20131114-210935.jpg

Wowza!

20131114-210949.jpg

No really, they’re pretty fantastic

20131114-210954.jpg

And you see how fun it was.

I mean, now you know that these aren’t your average-day, normal shoes.
This is the Nova shoe: a special-edition collaboration between United Nude’s Rem d Koolhaas and architect Zaha Hadid. You’ll recognize her style in the shoes instantly: she designs with a very liquid vision, very fluid and layered much like the Nova shoe:

A quick scan of architect Zaha Hadid's work reveals how the Nova shoe is so very her

A quick scan of architect Zaha Hadid’s work reveals how the Nova shoe is so very her

I can’t tell you enough how much I’m crazy about these crazy shoes.

So instead I will let you watch the video of how these shoes are made and then you’ll be on your knees with me bowing in respect to the beauty and genius:

So the question is, Am I still thinking about buying $2,000 shoes?

Yes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

